Key Recommendations for the CSW67 Zero Draft

The ARG has prepared the following recommendations for inclusion in the CSW67 Zero Draft on behalf of girls and women in all their diversity, including underrepresented, rural, grassroots/ community-roots and indigenous women and girls, widows, women on the move, women with disabilities, and LGBTQI+ people. As a result of consulting with over 700 individuals of our global, grassroots community including members of the global NGO CSWs to understand their lived experiences, we have identified these critical concerns for “the achievement of gender equality and the empowerment of all women and girls in the context of innovation and technological change, and education in the digital age.” Women and girls should be included in the leadership and decision-making processes for the implementation of all five of these recommendations.


Invest in and strengthen gender-responsive policies, programs and laws that prioritize girls and women in all their diversity. Eliminate the digital gender gap by providing them with critical digital fluency skills, ranging from basic digital literacy to advanced technical skills in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) and in information and communications technology (ICT).


Develop international standards and guidelines to address and eliminate the risks to the digital privacy and safety, autonomy, and dignity of women and girls in all their diversity. Women and girls of all ages are particularly at risk for online abuse, cyberbullying and gender-based violence stemming from the pervasive sexism and misogyny on digital platforms which thwart their fundamental human rights.


Ensure universal access to essential and gender inclusive public and private digital infrastructure including electricity and frontier data and Artificial Intelligence (AI) innovations to bridge existing digital divides. Guarantee access to digital technologies in rural areas and ensure equal opportunity particularly for older women and women with disabilities to be empowered with ICTs, through not only physical access and skills development, but also design that respects the needs of all people following consultation with those directly affected.


Enhance official development assistance commitments and improve public finance and investments, as well as leverage private sector partnerships, for universal, affordable, equal and unfettered access to digital technologies for women and girls in all their diversity. This can include, but is not limited to, free device distribution, creation of affordability schemes, and affordable data plans.


Engage with girls and young women in the formulation, design and development of adequately financed policies and programs that prioritize digital literacy skills, online safety, and STEM education for girls, young women and marginalized groups. Address unequal gender norms, policies and laws and lack of infrastructure that hinder girls’ access, engagement and safety with digital tools, ICT and STEM education.

Community Survey on the CSW67 Priority Theme

This year, we are focusing on consulting with our global, grassroots community to understand their lived experiences that pertain to the CSW67 theme on innovation and technological change.

To that end, the ARG sent a survey to our constituency to collect their input about the priority theme and their community's experience with technology.

Read the results of the survey for a regional breakdown of the data and the community's top concerns relating to digital technology and women's rights and empowerment.

ARG Members

The ARG consists of members from civil society around the globe.

Ivy Koek and Ani Karapetyan, Co-Chairs

Adwoa Aidoo, Beth Blissman, Carla Akil, Carole Shaw, Christine Peer, Devan Zingler, Evelyn Duermayer, Fernanda Vasquez, Gillian D'Souza, Hawa Dvarney, Houry Geudelekian, Julianna Larock, Lana Finikin, Lina Abou Habib, Linda Abrahm Witong, Lois Addo, Mabel Bianco, Mercy Njili, Misun Woo, Nancy Makeoh, Pamela Morgan, Patricia Arkhondis, Rahel Beigel, Rosa Lizarde, Saeeda Rizvi, Samreen Shahbaz, Sandra Tamon, Saphira Rameshfar, Shaila Rao Mistry, Stacy Dry Lara, Susan O'Malley, Terry Ince